The Trot Blog

The Classic Series At The Meadowlands

The Classic Series resumes at The Meadowlands.  We’ll take a look at the Trotting Classic as it looks to be compelling on paper.

Here are the horses –

  1. Four Starzz Speed
  2. Misterizi
  3. Michaelrowyourboat
  4. Holiday Credit
  5. Arch Madness
  6. Enough Talk
  7. In Focus
  8. Corleone Kosmos
  9. Digital Image
  10. Lanson

Arch Madness is the one to beat in here after drawing post #5 with Sears aboard and coming off a super 1:51.4 mile last week.  That being said, if he has traffic problems or goes to the lead and isn’t sharp he could get beat.  There is a ton of top talent in here. 

Lanson draws post #10 so it will be tough for him to repeat. Corleone most likely will need a start to be ready for this level.  Misterizi needs to return to last year’s form but has the talent on the right night.  Four Starzz and Enough Talk have the speed to mix it up and will be in the hunt.

It looks like a 5-6-1-8.

56 with 56 with 128 with 128 

We’ll see Friday night.


The Classic Series at Dover Downs – Monday, April 6


Winbak Speed


The prestigious Classic Series for older horses opens its 2009 season with the first of three stops at Dover Downs and later to the Meadowlands and Mohawk to complete the preliminaries culminating with a $250, final in each of its four divisions.

A select field of five contest the $86,000 Pacing Classic led by Wayne Givens and Niel Gargiulo’s Winbak Speed (Ron Pierce), the leading money winning horses thus far this year, John Cancelliere’s Western Shore (Andy Miller), Joe Smith’s Allamerican Idol (Brian Sears), Frog Juice (Jim Morand) racing for Gary and Barbara Iles and Bulletproof Enterprises’ Riggins (David Miller) from the rail.

The $85,000 Trotting Classic is led by world champion and track record holder Enough Talk (Pierce) the all-time fastest trotter all-time, owned by P Keinhans Racing and Jerry Silva, one-time Hambletonian champion and Trotter of the Year Vivid Photo racing for driver Roger Hammer and Todd Shadel. The face Trillium Racing Stable’s Green Day (George Brennan), Four Starz Speed (Dave Palone) racing for Howard Taylor, Weaver Bruscemi and Burke Racing Stable, Flowing Mineral Farm’s Michaelrowyourboat (Tim Tetrick) from the rail and Larry Roman’s Swan Image (David Miller) from outside post 6.

White Birch Farm’s Darlin’s Delight (Yannick Gingras), winner of the recent Overbid Final leads five challengers in the $85,000 Classic Distaff. Jeff Snyder’s homebred Woobine-standout Michelle’s Power (Jody Jamieson), Martha Maxine (Andy Miller) winner of the Cape & Cutter for owners T.P. Alagna, Brittany Farms and Erv Miller Stable, Bulletproof Enterprises Cuz She Can (Brennan) and a two-horse entry of Southwind Tempo (Tetrick) owned by Jerry Silva and Let It Ride Stable and Mind Boggling (Eric Goodell) for owners Mentally and Let It Ride stables.

With 14 entries, the Classic Oaks is split into two $60,000 sections. Track record holder Buck I St. Pat (Tetrick), the 2008 Trotting Mare of the Year, owned by Howard Taylor, Ed Gold, Abe Basen and Dr. Ron Fuller, meets P Kleinhans racing’s Lavec Dream (Pierce), Shanamphilaniklou Inc.’s Hawaiianphotograph (Palone), Heb Liverman’s Spice Queen (Sears), Ed Mullinax and Frank Dettore’s Up Front Hotsey (Mike Vanderkemp) trainer Misty and driver David Miller’s Autumn Escapade and Tyler Raymer and Trillium Racing’s Sumertime Yankee (Brennan).

The other $60,000 distaff edition finds Sylvia Burke and Randy Ringer’s Afternoon Dreams (Palone) seeking her sixth straight win taking on the “Dover Darling” Allmar Surprise owned by driver Vic Kirby and Matt Ivory, Elmer Fannin’s Kadealia (Tetrick), Arlene and Jules Siegel’s Stage Show (Brennan), Falls For You (Sears) racing for Ted Gewertz, Willow Pond and Fair Winds Farm, Classic Lane (Tony Morgan) owned by Bob and Lauren Tucker, and Sholty and JML stables’ Morguns Sweetheart (Gingras).

In addition, the Dover Downs Monday card includes two $100,000 Delaware Standardbred Breeders Fund finals for pacers, colt and for fillies, and a $40,000 Open Preferred pace. Post time is 4:30 p.m.

 (courtesy of Marv Bachrad and Dover Downs)